Cadet 1st Class Dionne Mae Apolog Umalla, a native of Alilem, Ilocos Sur, is the top-notcher of this year’s PMA “MABALASIK” Class of 2019.

The 21-year old top cadet will receive the Presidential Saber, Philippine Navy Saber, Distinguished Cadet Award, Academic Group Award, Management Plaque, Agfo Award, Australian Defense Best Overall Performance, Social Sciences Plaque, Computing and Information Sciences Plaque, Humanities Plaque, Special Armed Forces Award, and the Natural Science Plaque.

Umala was a second year undergraduate taking up a degree in Education at Saint Louis College, Ilocos Sur when she decided to enter PMA. She defeated 263 graduates and became the fifth woman to top the PMA graduating batch since 1999.

She decided to join the Navy soon.

Ranking second on the top 10 is Cdt. 1CL Jonathan Eslao Mendoza from Sangley Point, Cavite City who will receive the Vice Presidential Saber, Philippine Army Saber and the Aguinaldo Saber.

Third placer is Cdt. 1CL Jahxiel Gumapac Tandoc from Trinidad, Benguet who will also receive the Secretary of National Defense Saber and Philippine Army Saber.

Fourth on the list is Cdt. 1CL Daniel Heinz Bugnosen Lucas from Barlig, Mt. Province; 5th placer is Cdt. 1CL Aldren Maambong Altamero from Kidapawan City; 6th placer is Cdt. 1CL Richard Balabag Lonogan from Sagada, Mt. Province; 7th placer is Cdt. 1CL Marnel Dinihay Fundales from Leganes, Iloilo; 8th placer is Cdt. 1CL Glyn Elinor Buansi Marapao from Buguias, Benguet; 9th placer is Cdt. 1CL Ruth Angelique Ricardo Pasos from Pasig City and 10th placer is Cdt. 1CL Daryl James Jalgalado Ligutan from Sta. Mesa, Manila.

Another Saber Awardee is Cdt. 1CL Jesriel Alvendia Calimag, while Cdt. 1CL Geoffrey Ortega Valdez will receive the Journalism Awardee.

Athletic Saber Awardees are Cdt. 1CL Kimberly Joy Saliw-an Baculi and Cdt. 1CL Nicolas Crisanto Raguine Guysayko.

The graduation ceremony of PMA Mandirigma ng Bayan, Iaalay ang Sarili, Lakas at Tapang, Para sa Kapayapaan (MABALASIK) Class of 2019 will be on May 26, Sunday.

President Rodrigo Duterte is expected to attend the said event as the guest of honor and speaker. (with reports from Bombo Radyo Baguio)